“Storm Riders” Top Ten

Currently in Hurricane Season mode, but the Atlantic Basin is quiet. Below I’ve posted possibly the top ten best photographs Juston Drake and I shot during the filming of the Television Series “Storm Riders” on The Weather Channel.  I say “possibly” because there are so many great photographs it’s very hard to chose the best.  The selection process involved many types of photos, but that was becoming too difficult, so narrowed it down to just tornadoes to make the process easier.  The Campo CO tornado was the only tornado to appear twice, because this tornado was so photogenic and had so many different amazing shots.

long rope tornado southwest of Russell KS on May 25 2012

long rope tornado southwest of Russell KS        May 25 2012

violent multivortex killer tornado near Alden MN on June 17 2010 caused EF4 rated damage to farms

violent multivortex killer tornado near Alden MN on June 17 2010 caused EF4 rated damage

large wedge tornado near Clarks Grove MN on June 17 2010

large wedge tornado near Clarks Grove MN on June 17 2010

strong cone shaped tornado west of Aurora NE on June 17 2009

strong cone shaped tornado west of Aurora NE on June 17 2009

snake-like rope tornado over I-40 near Dale OK on May 24 2011

snake-like rope tornado over I-40 near Dale OK on May 24 2011

violent multivortex cone tornado southwest of Henryville IN on March 2 2012

violent multivortex cone tornado southwest of Henryville IN on March 2 2012

large cone tornado tears through Devine TX on March 19 2012

large cone tornado tears through Devine TX on March 19 2012

2 tornadoes west of Cherokee OK on April 14 2012

two tornadoes west of Cherokee OK on April 14 2012

smooth tip of rope tornado over High Plains prairie south of Campo CO on May 31 2010

smooth tip of rope tornado over High Plains prairie south of Campo CO on May 31 2010

stovepipe tornado south of Campo CO on May 31 2010

stovepipe tornado south of Campo CO                 May 31 2010

One thought on ““Storm Riders” Top Ten

  1. Beautiful pictures and I am a huge fan of your show. I enjoy it because it’s educational. Your show has taught me a lot about chasing(I chase in Western/Central PA) and has helped me out tremendously. I bet it was difficult to narrow it down what pictures to use because they are fantastic. I have a hard time chosing 12 pictures every year when I make my storm chasing calendar for my family. My favortie episode of “Storm Riders” was the Campo one. That tornado is so photogenic and I love the blue sky in the back drop. Keep up the good work and stay safe.
    Laura Kosht Ice

Leave a Reply

